The Lessons I Wish I had Taught–not too late

It’s all about relationship, the relationships God wants me to experience with others and the relationship that is deep and personal and real that He and He alone offers me. Yes, He knows my name and He knows your name; He planned the family He placed me in and the family He placed you in, and absolutely everything that is in my life and in your life  He desires to use as a blessing for me and others. He wants me to bring glory and honor and worship to Him! How Awesome is that? Totally. How believable is that? Absolutely— “The Bible Tells Me So.” Sometimes our life experiences blur truth, and we choose sometimes to have difficulty accepting that truth. How true is it? Totally.

I hear you; come of you are saying, “Do you think that makes you special?” And the answer has to be a resounding, air-splitting, up-lifted “YES!” Because I know these truths, I can accept life’s circumstances as planned events with God’s fingerprints all over them. Each event and each person thus has godly moment and godly meaning. Even the worst damage suffered at the hands of man can be redeemed—”what man intended for evil, God intended for good.” However, pain, whether psychic or physical, can cause us to become self-absorbed, and we lose sight of God’s purposes. Again the words must come forth, “Father, forgive me, for I have sinned.” And He does, and He embraces me, and He comforts me; He even understands me if I emotionally need to suck my thumb instead of running immediately to him. At the end of this lesson is an “F,” so the first life lesson must be on forgiveness.

     

REFLECTIONS

Do I have life experiences that blur the truth of God? What keeps me from believing His promises of an abundant life apply to me?_____________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________

How do I” suck my thumb” or try to handle life’s difficulties instead of asking for God’s help?__________________________________________________________________ ______________________________________________________________________

 

Do I have life experiences that blur the truth of God? What keeps me from believing His promises of an abundant life apply to me?

Perspective is important to perception–I am not quite sure exactly what that means, but I do know “we act on what we believe, not on what we know.”   Based on my behaviors, I do not respect my body as the temple of the Holy Spirit. Yet, my Sunday school answer, ingrained in  me is my unique position as a child of God.  Maybe it was the never being allowed to be in a conversation calling for my opinion, my having many chores and farm work that did not say I was special.  I am rather ordinary, definitely overweight, and Jesus promises me an abundant life here and now.  My life is abundant, and I am not called to perfection, but to excellence.  I have beaten myself up for years because I could not perform in the way I desired.  I will reflect more on my question and attempt on-going honesty.

How do I” suck my thumb” or try to handle life’s difficulties instead of asking for God’s help?

Is public confession really necessary?  What good does it do to be honest?   Will it cure me and make me whole?  I confess and repent daily, for I am truly a living sacrifice that wriggles off the altar.  I substitute bingeing on food or  exerting my buying power.  Is it a little unusual to be able to rattle off by typing all sixteen digits of  my Visa account and not remember my brothers’ ten-digit phone numbers?

A year of months

A month of Sundays

24 hours a day

The presence

The presents

I do not believe that it is too late.  I will continue to act on that belief and to affirm that I am a much loved, very special child of God, not by my goodness, but by His grace–allowing Jesus the suffering I deserved.  With Him Too Little, Too Late  -NOT!

About Dot Ainsworth Day

Though I taught English for a number of years, I am only now working on Being a Writer. I wrote but as a teacher, as a family therapist, as a student, as a mother; now I am a writer. I still occasionally work as a family therapist. Because I am easily distracted by technology and have a tendency to procrastinate,I need to re-state that: I AM A WRITER. BACK WHEN: MEMORIES OF A SHARECROPPER'S DAUGHTER THAT'S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR In writing process: BACK WHEN: A Taste for Murder
This entry was posted in Parent-Teacher and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

