Jesus, for Sure

TESTIMONY

Thanks to the testimony of a dear, sweet, young friend, I decided to share mine as well. What a wonderful vehicle to share one’s experience with Jesus. I was 43 years old when God really gave me what I truly believe was my last chance to admit I was a sinner in need of a Savior.

I “knew” I had done everything right when I walked the aisle when around 12 or 13. I loved the church, studied, read the Bible through, and witnessed to others. But God did not really use me until I had surrendered my pride and self-righteousness, which is no righteousness at all.

As Mama said, I was a good girl who did not have much knowledge of myself as a sinner–maybe I thought about actions but did not do them. What a puffed up attitude!

God got my attention through the preaching of several preachers, and I started to question my salvation, decided that doubt was the devil’s way of keeping me from witnessing. Yet my doubt of being saved was so strong that I went to the altar to confess my now-adult understanding of Jesus. I was convinced I now knew what I was doing, but I did not say I was a sinner in need of a Savior. I was even re-baptized–which doesn’t save us Baptists or anyone else.

After moving to the country, we started attending New Zion Baptist Church, a rural Mississippi church. There Bro. Leroy Brewer kept hammering on about obedience and I started thinking about my position with God. I became involved in a very in-depth Bible study led by his wife, Sharon Brewer.

God used the story of Moses to scare me to death of self. When God used the first plagues, the phrase in the Bible was “Pharaoh hardened his heart.” Later on, the phrase is “and God hardened the heart of Pharaoh.” I began to see that God’s patience is not everlasting, although His grace and His mercy are. I had grownup in church and thought I was an indispensible worker in the church. There was so much pride to bolster a weak self-confidence.

I went down the aisle; the two of them met with me, and I was still resistant because what if I went through the actions and everything stayed the same? Finally despite the stronghold of Great Pride, I prayed the sinner’s prayer. I felt a great weight of oppression lifted from me–such a difference it made.

What a difference–colors looked brighter, and the world was more beautiful, and my heart was so at peace, and I just wanted to praise! Every action seemed to be a prayer. I know some people don’t have the same change in feelings that I did, but there was such a difference. The next day was Sunday, and again, I went to the front to proclaim my newfound relationship with an almighty God through his Son, Jesus. God began to use my experience in that church with about 8 or 9 more people following, getting right with the Lord, over the next few weeks.
We Christians should always be ready to share our stories. Look at how many times God used Paul/Saul’s testimony. Before I was saved, I was scared to death of public speaking. Afterward, I welcomed the opportunity to speak. Look for the differences God makes in your life. People can argue with the “jots and tittles” of the Bible, but there is no argument to counter that of a changed life.

About Dot Ainsworth Day

After 25 years in the classroom as an English teacher and over twenty years as a family therapist, I am confined to home with a muscular dystrophy and have begun to write: MEMORIES OF THE SHARECROPPER'S FAMILY, published on​ February 27 with a much-corrected second edition due November 1. I hope you enjoy learning about more Mississippi writers and their work. THAT'S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR In writing process: BACK WHEN: A Taste for Murder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

