Change

You can teach an old dog new tricks if you are the dog and you ask God to transform you!

You can teach an old dog new tricks if you are the dog and you ask God to transform you!


So often we have given up on ourselves: We accept that God, through heredity and environment, has given us these less than perfect bodies and set them in these less than wonderful places, and we have less than hoped-for lives! This is our world, and welcome to it. We are stuck!

Maybe the first step toward change is to say, “Thank you, Jesus. You gave me this body so that I might be identified: I am uniquely and wonderfully made; You know me by name; and You have even carved my name on Your hands. Only You are perfect, and you are known for the many hard events of your life and for your compassionate love. Help me, Jesus, to understand than my imperfection is a part of me that you love and can even use; help me to be more like you and to concern myself with the purposes You have for me, for the concerns that really matter. Lord, change me.”

Unfortunately,rather than surrendering to God’s master plan, we sometimes start with trying to change ourselves. For years I tried to change my body by diet and exercise, with limited results. The first level of changeis a change in behavior. There is nothing wrong in replacing a bad habit with a better one, but we find it difficult to maintain. Did you ever try to give up smoking or sucking your thumb or giving up your pacifier–difficult,huh?

A second order of change is a change in behavior based on a change in the thought processes fueling the behavior. Now we’re cooking! “It is unhealthy for me to carry this large amount of fat around my heart. Why, I can hardly move, much less walk around the block or run to get out of the rain.” Our thinking about our habit is thus getting more in line with a change. We are now doing a little cognitive -behavioral therapy on ourselves.

But the third order of change is change based on God’s transforming power. However, I prayed many years for the miracle of a slim body, and God never gave me one.

Hmm, maybe I am misinterpreting this order of change. Maybe God transforms us differently that we expect. Let’s think about this. Please post your efforts toward change in any form.See you tomorrow,,

About Dot Ainsworth Day

After 25 years in the classroom as an English teacher and over twenty years as a family therapist, I am confined to home with a muscular dystrophy and have begun to write: MEMORIES OF THE SHARECROPPER'S FAMILY, published on​ February 27 with a much-corrected second edition due November 1. I hope you enjoy learning about more Mississippi writers and their work. THAT'S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR In writing process: BACK WHEN: A Taste for Murder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

